Nirvana Tribute Album: In Utero, In Tribute, In Entirety

Nirvana LogoLast year, Nirvana’s last full length album In Utero turned twenty years old. In the spirit of the anniversary, a widely expanded 20th anniversary re-issue of the album was released that included unreleased demos, the original rough mixes of the record, and live recordings of Nirvana’s 1993 ‘Live and Loud’ performance. This re-issue sparked Toronto-based DIY label ‘Hand Drawn Dracula’ to release Milkin’ It, a tribute to the renowned album, featuring covers by some of the city’s best indie acts. Inspired by the idea to create a similar tribute album, Richmond, VA-based label ‘Robotic Empire’ has recently announced the release date of In Utero, In Tribute, In Entirety, another In Utero tribute record on which each track will be covered by a different artist. The artists on the tribute include acts such as Circa Survive, Thursday, Whirr, and many more. The album will be released on April 15th along with an exclusive vinyl/ physical copy version being released on April 19th, in conjunction with Record Store Day. Check out the full track listing of the tribute below:

1. Pygmy Lush – “Serve the Servants”
2. Circa Survive – “Scentless Apprentice”
3. These Arms Are Snakes – “Heart-Shaped Box” (last song released)
4. Thursday – “Rape Me” (last song released)
5. Jay Reatard – “Frances Farmer Will Have Her Revenge on Seattle” (one of last songs before passing)
6. Young Widows – “Dumb”
7. Mean Jeans – “Very Ape”
8. Thou – “Milk It”
9. Whirr – “Pennyroyal Tea”
10. Daughters – “Radio Friendly Unit Shifter”
11. Ceremony – “Tourette’s”
12. Black Math Horseman – “All Apologies” (last song released)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: